Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan (R) has named a new head of homeland security and a new director of emergency management.

Walter F. “Pete” Landon, a retired Maryland State Police lieutenant colonel, replaces Thomas E. “Tim” Hutchins in the homeland security post. Landon retired from the state police on June 1 after 30 years.

Russell J. Strickland, former director of the Harford County Department of Emergency Service, will become the director of emergency management, replacing Clay Stamp.

Both Hutchins and Stamp were appointed to their positions by Hogan in January.

Matt Clark, a spokesman for Hogan, said the two are leaving for personal reasons.

“The governor has high regards for both,” Clark said. “They were not asked to leave. . . Both were instrumental during snow emergencies and the [Baltimore] riots.”

Strickland began his 40-year career in public safety as a dispatcher at the Elkton Police Department in Cecil County. He served as a deputy director at Maryland Emergency Management Agency from 2004 to 2008.

Hogan said Stamp will remain a part of the administration, becoming a senior adviser to the governor for emergency management. He will also chair the Governor’s Emergency Management Advisory Council and return to his previous job as assistant county manager and director of emergency services in Talbot County.

Hogan also selected Roy McGrath, a senior adviser and liaison to the Board of Public Works, to serve as a deputy chief of staff.