A sign stands outside the Maryland state Senate chambers. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)

Maryland Sen. David R. Brinkley (R-Frederick) was returned to the position of minority leader by his Republican colleagues on Monday following a five-year hiatus.

The 12-member GOP caucus also selected Sen. Joseph M. Getty (R-Carroll) as minority whip.

Brinkley replaces Minority Leader E.J. Pipkin (R-Cecil), who announced last month that he would resign from the 47-member Senate to pursue a new career in sports management in Texas.

Brinkley previously served as minority leader in 2007 and 2008. He has been a member of the Senate since 2003 and served for eight years in the House of Delegates before that.

Getty replaces Sen. Edward R. Reilly (R-Anne Arundel), who is remaining in the chamber but stepping down from his leadership post. Getty has been a member of the Senate since 2011. He previously served as a policy and legislative director under former governor Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. (R).

Lawmakers are scheduled to return to Annapolis in January for their annual 90-day session.