A last-minute rush of applicants to finish Valerie Ervin’s unexpired District 5 County Council term has brought the final list to 18, including Dale Tibbitts, chief of staff for Council member Marc Elrich (D-At Large).

Ervin resigned effective Jan. 3 to become executive director of the Center for Working Families.

The roster of hopefuls had stood at nine until Wednesday, when a final flurry of letters and résumés landed in council offices. The council is scheduled to interview selected applicants on Jan. 17 and Jan. 24, if necessary. A vote on the replacement is tentatively set for Jan. 28. Council members have said that whoever is selected must agree not to run in the June Democratic primary and to serve as only as a “caretaker” until the end of the term in December.

The other eight applicants who came forward Wednesday are:

Esther Stein Chayt, former caseworker for the consumer protection office of the Maryland State Attorney General.

Michael Diegel, communications and public affairs consultant who recently served on Montgomery County’s Nighttime Economy Task Force.

Larry Edmonds, director of commercial accounts for Owl Pest Prevention and vice president of legislation for the Montgomery County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations.

Jay Hutchins III, director of governmental affairs for the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation and 2010 candidate for state delegate from District 19.

Kim Jones, program director for the MCPS Honors Executive Leadership Program and member of the East County Community Advisory Board.

Iris Lewis, teacher liaison for Baltimore County Public Schools and independent special education consultant.

Herman L. Taylor Jr., former state delegate representing District 14 and founder and CEO of Deskmate Office Products.

Mark Woodard, health policy analyst for the Maryland Board of Physicians and former vice-chair of the Silver Spring Citizens Advisory Board.