2011 Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medal Awards Finalists

Known as the “Sammies,” the awards honor distinguished public servants. Nine employees will receive awards this fall, and one will be named federal employee of the year. The finalists* were honored Thursday on Capitol Hill as part of Public Service Recognition Week. The awards are a Partnership for Public Service initiative. For more on the finalists, go online to washingtonpost.com/politics/finalists or servicetoamericamedals.org.

Call to service

• Katherine Antos; Environmental Protection Agency, Chesapeake Bay Program Office; Annapolis

• Oliver P. Fischer; Census Bureau; Washington

• Ann S. Martin; Treasury Department; Vienna

• Mary Pletcher; Interior Department, Office of Policy, Management and Budget; Washington

Career achievement

• Alfonso Batres; Veterans Health Administration; Washington

Neal B. Brown; Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration; Rockville

• Sharon W. Bryson; National Transportation Safety Board; Washington

• Lawrence Deyton; Food and Drug Administration; Rockville

• Matthew J. Friedman; Department of Veterans Affairs; White River Junction, Vt.

Citizen services

• Diane Braunstein; Social Security Administration; Baltimore

• Julius Knapp, Ruth Milkman and Sharon Gillet and the Omnibus Broadband Initiative team; Federal Communications Commission; Washington

• Kim M. Nazi and the Blue Button Initiative team; Veterans Health Administration; Albany, N.Y.

• Julie Rushin; Internal Revenue Service; Atlanta

Homeland cecurity

• William Arrington; Transportation Security Administration; Arlington

• C. Norman Coleman; National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute; Rockville

• Amy Merten and the ERMA team; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; Seattle

• Richard Reed; Executive Office of the President; Washington

Justice and law enforcement

• Taryn Guariglia; special agent; Internal Revenue Service; Deerfield Beach, Fla.

• Charles Heurich and the NamUs team; Justice Department, Office of Justice Programs, National Institute of Justice; Washington

Charles J. Houser and team; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; Martinsburg, W.Va.

• Katherine McQuay and Zoe Mentel; Justice Department; Washington

Management excellence

• W. Todd Grams; Department of Veterans Affairs; Washington

• Bill Guerin; General Services Administration; Washington

• Ann Marie Oliva; Department of Housing and Urban Development; Washington

• Michael B. Smith; Department of Homeland Security; Washington

National security and international affairs

• Paul B. Dean; State Department; Washington

• James Michael Duncan and team; NASA; Houston

• Dan Meyer and team; Defense Department, Office of the Inspector General; Arlington

• Brian H. Nilsson and the Export Control Reform team; Executive Office of the President, national security staff; Washington

• Janet St. Laurent; Government Accountability Office; Washington

Science and environment

• Fenella France; Library of Congress; Washington

• William A. Gahl; National Institutes of Health; Bethesda ­

• Paul Hsieh; U.S. Geological Survey; Menlo Park, Calif.

• Diane Powell and the LAUNCH team; NASA; Washington

*This list was published in The Post on Friday without the name of one of the finalists. We are reprinting the list, along with a group photo of the finalists.