NVCC announces winners
of annual writing contest

’Bryan Bells “Coyote Under an Azure Sky” won first place in the poetry category of the 24th annual writing contest at Northern Virginia Community College’s Manassas campus. Bell, of Manassas, also received an honorable mention in nonfiction for “An Appalachian Frat Boy Goes Home.”

Other winners included:

→Shane Music of Haymarket, first place, nonfiction for “-XX.”

→Susan McNeil of Gainesville, first place, academic essay for “Off the Hook.”

→Tanya Kettler Burke of Manassas, first place, one-act play for “Girls Night Out.”

→Gabrielle McCormack of Centreville, first place, short fiction for “Show Me Your Smile Please.”

Chamber honors Manassas, Prince William police force

The Prince William Chamber of Commerce recently hosted the Valor Awards, presented annually to dozens of emergency personnel for heroic acts.

The chamber awarded the silver medal for bravery and heroism to Prince William County police officers Joshua H. Boughman, Luke N. Dean and Michael A. Scarsella.

The Lifesaving Merit Award, for acts involving personal risk and/or demonstration of judgment, zeal or ingenuity above what is usually expected in the performance of duty, was given to county Officer Michael A. Pope.

The Lifesaving Award, given in recognition of acts taken in a life-threatening situation, was awarded to county police Sgt. Jeff H. Good; officers Jonathan B. Zarkauskas, Dirk-Jan Cumings, Trevin Frame, Daniel Guinn, Gary Brunelle, John Franklin, Robert Davis, Kelly Anderson and Eric Garecht; and telecommunicator Tracy Zingg. The award was also given to Manassas police Officer D.T. Villanueva.

Manassas police officers A. Plourde and C.J. Golick received the bronze medal.

The Investigative Merit Award, for a cumulative body of investigative work, was given to Lt. Jarad L. Phelps; first sergeants William M. Burke and Christopher A. Meurer; Sgt. Heather A. Younce; administrative support assistant Mary S. Munoz; and detectives Donanthony King, Daniel A. Downey Jr., Heather S. Darling, Whitney K. Lanier, Kevin A. Carr, Joseph M. Westerman, John M. Lennox, Colleen E. Grantham, Marcos D. Spittal, Michelle M. Nemerow, David S. Cho, C. Annie Tyrrell, John M. Kelly, Kimberly M. Norton, Nicole K. DelVecchio, Gary D. VanDyke and Robyn L. Hyatt.

The Hillary Robinette Award was presented to Manassas master detective Dave Abbott for integrity in investigative work.

— Compiled by Sarah Lane