The first public forum for Democratic primary candidates in the 8th Congressional District is set for April 12 from 4 to 6 p.m. at the Mount Vernon High School Little Theater, 8515 Old Mount Vernon Rd., in the Alexandria section of Fairfax County.

Twelve candidates have declared their intention to seek the party’s nomination in the June 10 primary. The seat is open because James Moran (D), the long-time congressman, has opted not to run for re-election. Only those officially in the race by the March 27 filing deadline can participate.

Declared candidates include former Virginia lieutenant governor Don Beyer; former Northern Virginia Urban League president Lavern Chatman; state Sen. Adam Ebbin; Satish Korpe, director of the Democratic Business Council of Northern Virginia; Alexandria Mayor Bill Euille; state Del. Charniele Herring; state Del. Patrick Hope; radio talk-show host Mark Levine; state Del. Alfonso H. Lopez; Virginia Tech professor Derek Hyra; business owner Nancy Najarian, and former Navy pilot Bruce Shuttleworth.

The free public forum is sponsored by the Mount Vernon District Democratic Committee.