Del. Alfonso H. Lopez entered the race to succeed retiring U.S. Rep. James P. Moran Jr. Wednesday, making him the fifth Democrat in the General Assembly to throw his hat in the ring.

Lopez, who represents Arlington and part of Fairfax, said in a campaign statement that he would be “a proven fighter for our progressive values” in the strongly Democratic-leaning district, which also includes Alexandria and Falls Church.

The Democratic field also includes state Sen. Adam P. Ebbin (Alexandria) and Dels. Charniele L. Herring (Alexandria), Patrick A. Hope (Arlington), and Mark D. Sickles (Fairfax). Former lieutenant governor Don Beyer, Alexandria Mayor William D. Euille and 2012 candidate Bruce Shuttleworth are in the race as well.

At least three other Democrats are considering bids: Mark Levine, a liberal radio talk-show host, former Northern Virginia Urban League president Lavern J. Chatman and Arlington County Board member J. Walter Tejada.

On the Republican side, former congressional aide Micah Edmond is running for his party’s nod.