RICHMOND—Gov.-elect Terry McAuliffe on Friday named a Virginia Beach resident steeped in the region’s traffic woes to be his secretary of transportation.

McAuliffe (D) revealed his selection of Aubrey Layne, a member of the Commonwealth Transportation Board since 2009, at a news conference at the Norfolk International Terminals — a location meant to highlight the connection between good transportation and a strong economy.

Layne’s appointment was also touted as evidence that McAuliffe, who narrowly defeated Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli II (R) this month, will have a bipartisan cabinet, as Layne has served governors of both parties.

In 2009, then-governor Timothy M. Kaine (D) named Layne to the transportation board. And in 2010, Gov. Robert F. McDonnell (R) put Layne on the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission. Layne became chair in 2012.

McAuliffe and Layne commended McDonnell and the General Assembly for passing a $1.4 billion-a-year transportation funding bill this year, which will provide the commonwealth with the first infusion of roads-and-rail cash in nearly a generation.

Layne is president of Achievable Dream Academies in Newport News, a partnership between public schools and local businesses aimed at helping at-risk students succeed.

Also this week, McAuliffe announced his senior staff and finance co-chairmen for his inaugural committee.

The three finance co-chairmen are: Mark Bowles, executive vice president at McGuireWoods Consulting; Catherine Reynolds, chairwoman of the Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation; and Rusty Conner, managing partner at the DLA Piper law firm and finance chairman for McAuliffe’s gubernatorial campaign.

Brynne Craig, political director for the campaign, will serve as committee’s executive director. Amanda Howe, who worked in the administrations of Kaine and former governor Mark R. Warner (D) and ran Virginia’s effort to host Queen Elizabeth II’s visit around the Jamestown quadricentennial, will serve as senior adviser. Ashley Bauman, press secretary for the Democratic Party of Virginia, will serve as communications director.