More than three dozen states currently prohibit the sale of e-cigarettes to minors and that number is likely to climb. About a dozen states have enacted some form of usage ban in public places such as schools and government buildings, though only three — New Jersey, North Dakota and Utah — forbid the use of e-cigarettes everywhere that smoking is banned. Numerous municipalities also have instituted usage restrictions. Meanwhile, Minnesota remains the only state that taxes e-cigarettes at the high rate that also applies to traditional tobacco products. North Carolina recently put in place a much more modest tax of 5 cents for each milliliter of the nicotine liquid. Read related article.

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures and American Non-Smokers Rights Association | The Washington Post June 16, 2014
Show Comments