The Washington Post

House Republicans like Indiana for education panel (update)

(Update: With complete Democratic list)

The Republicans have chosen their lineup for the U.S. House Committee on Education and the Workforce in the 113th Congress, and it turns out that Indiana took top honors in terms of number of seats.

Indiana is the state where voters in November removed controversial State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett and elected veteran teacher Glenda Ritz in his place. Bennett, a leader of the national market-driven school reform movement who pushed through a statewide voucher program, is taking over as education chief in Florida, where his mentor, former governor Jeb Bush, still has big influence in the education sphere.

Here’s the newly announced list of Republican committee members for the 113th Congress (* indicates prior service on the committee):

Chairman: Rep. John Kline of Minnesota*

  • Rep. Thomas E. Petri of Wisconsin*
  • Rep. Howard P. “Buck” McKeon of Cailfornia*
  • Rep. Joe Wilson of South Carolina*
  • Rep. Virginia Foxx of North Carolina*
  • Rep. Tom Price of Georgia*
  • Rep. Kenny Marchant of Texas*
  • Rep. Duncan Hunter of California*
  • Rep. David “Phil” Roe of Tennessee*
  • Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson of Pennsylvania*
  • Rep. Tim Walberg of Michigan*
  • Rep. Matt Salmon of Arizona*
  • Rep. Brett Guthrie of Kentucky*
  • Rep. Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee*
  • Rep. Todd Rokita of Indiana*
  • Rep. Larry Bucshon of Indiana*
  • Rep. Trey Gowdy of South Carolina*
  • Rep. Lou Barletta of Pennsylvania*
  • Rep. Martha Roby of Alabama*
  • Rep. Joseph J. Heck of Nevada*
  • Rep.-elect Susan Brooks of Indiana
  • Rep.-elect Richard Hudson of North Carolina
  • Rep.-elect Luke Messer of Indiana

  What’s more, Rokita  of Indiana was chosen as chairman of the subcommittee on Early Childhood, Elementary, and Secondary Education. Fox of North Carolina was tapped to chair the Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Training

The House Democrats have named the following members to the committee:

  • Rep. George Miller of California
  • Rep. Andrews of New Jersey
  • Rep. Robert Scott of Virginia
  • Rep. Ruben Hinojosa of Texas
  • Rep. Carolyn McCarthy of New York
  • Rep. John Tierney of Massachusetts
  • Rep. Rush Holt of New Jersey
  • Rep. Susan Davis of California
  • Rep. Raul Grijalva of Arizona
  • Rep. Tim Bishop of New York
  • Rep. Dave Loebsack of Iowa
  • Rep. Joe Courtney of Connecticut
  • Rep. Marcia Fudge of Ohio
  • Rep. Jared Polis of Colorado
  • Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan of  Northern Mariana Islands
  • Rep. John Yarmuth of Kentucky
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson of Florida
  • Rep. Suzanne Bonamici of Oregon
Valerie Strauss covers education and runs The Answer Sheet blog.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.