Miranda Lambert and newcomer duo Florida Georgia Line were the big winners at the CMT Music Awards in Nashville on Wednesday night, each walking away with two trophies for their music videos.

(Note: Yes, the CMT Awards are for music videos. This show is not to be confused with Fox’s fan-voted American Country Awards in December; CBS’s Academy of Country Music Awards in April; or ABC’s Country Music Association Awards in November, known as the most prestigious trophy of them all.)

Lambert won Female Video for sassy single “Mama’s Broken Heart” and CMT Performance of the Year for the ballad “Over You.”

Meanwhile, Florida Georgia Line continued to rack up the accolades for super-catchy “Cruise,” winning Duo Video and Breakthrough Video for the summertime song that continues to burn up the charts–even though it was released nearly a year ago.

Carrie Underwood scored the Video of the Year prize for the stormy “Blown Away,” while trio Lady Antebellum – featuring a very pregnant Hillary Scott – accepted the award for Group Video for the pop-infused “Downtown.”

A full list of nominations and winners can be found below. Here are some of the most entertaining (and most cringe-worthy) moments from the two and a half hour show:


Strange-but-enjoyable collaborations. Jason Aldean and Lenny Kravitz singing “American Woman”: It didn’t necessarily have to work, but it did. And no matter your philosophy on Florida Georgia Line teaming up with Nelly for a rap remix of “Cruise,” it’s really, really hard to get that song out of your head.

Best performance – Darius Rucker. Is anyone in the world ever having as much fun as Darius Rucker? The former Hootie and the Blowfish frontman cheerfully made a long walk from the top of a staircase to the stage, stopping to give fans hugs and greetings while never missing a note of “Wagon Wheel.”

Honorable mentions for best performance Taylor Swift; Little Big Town featuring Keith Urban; Kacey Musgraves.  Swift went with quite the stage show for her album title track “Red.” (Also, was that one of her strongest vocals ever for a live show?) Later, Little Big Town made the curious choice of going with a cover song, Fleetwood Mac’s “The Chain,” and improved instantly when Keith Urban joined them for a killer guitar solo. Plus, breakout star Kacey Musgraves hit the main stage for the first time giving a low key, but powerful performance with “Blowin’ Smoke.”

Adorable spouse moments You might think it would be hard to win over Carrie Underwood’s husband, hockey player Mike Fisher, faux-storming towards Larry the Cable Guy on stage when the comedian made one too many “Carrie, stop calling me, I’m married” jokes. Instead, the “aww” moment of the night goes to Nicole Kidman, as the cameras (twice!) caught the normally composed actress singing along to her husband Keith Urban as he performed his new single, “Little Bit of Everything.”

Line of the night: “I’m going to catch so much hell from Dolly for that,” joked Kenny Rogers, after stumbling through a few lines of his famous Dolly Parton duet “Islands in the Stream” with co-presenter Sheryl Crow, right before announcing Video of the Year.


That opening skit. An intro starring co-hosts Kristen Bell and Jason Aldean fell flat, as Bell pretended to be Aldean’s therapist. Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton and Reba showed up to offer “advice” about hosting award shows and Vince Vaughn popped in to shamelessly promote his new movie.

Jason Aldean as co-host. Bell held her own in her charming, bubbly way, while poor Aldean mostly looked uncomfortable. Plus, the awkward reference to his personal life: “I don’t think I’m the guy to make jokes at anyone’s expense,” he cracked at the beginning of the show, when Bell urged him to make fun of celebs in the audience.

Technical issues. “Ladies and gentleman, our prompters are down, that’s the only part of the bit I remember!” Bell announced at one point, breaking from the script but no longer able to ignore equipment malfunctions. There seemed to be problems for earlier presenters, and a faulty sound issue made it difficult to hear Florida Georgia Line being announced for the duo’s second win.

Full list of winners and nominees:

Brad Paisley – “Southern Comfort Zone”
Carrie Underwood – “Blown Away” (WINNER)
Eric Church – “Springsteen”
Florida Georgia Line – “Cruise”
Hunter Hayes – “Wanted”
Jason Aldean – “1994”
Kenny Chesney – “Come Over”
Little Big Town – “Tornado”
Luke Bryan – “Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye”
Miranda Lambert – “Mama’s Broken Heart”
Taylor Swift – “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”
Tim McGraw – “One of Those Nights”

Blake Shelton – “Sure Be Cool If You Did” (WINNER)
Eric Church – “Creepin’”
Hunter Hayes – “Wanted”
Jason Aldean – “Take a Little Ride”
Kenny Chesney – “Come Over”
Luke Bryan – “Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye”

Carrie Underwood – “Two Black Cadillacs”
Faith Hill – “American Heart”
Jana Kramer – “Why Ya Wanna”
Kacey Musgraves – “Merry Go ‘Round”
Miranda Lambert – “Mama’s Broken Heart” (WINNER)
Taylor Swift – “Begin Again”

Lady Antebellum – “Downtown” (WINNER)
Little Big Town – “Pontoon”
Pistol Annies – “Takin’ Pills”
Rascal Flatts – “Come Wake Me Up”
The Band Perry – “Better Dig Two”
Zac Brown Band – “Goodbye in Her Eyes”

Big & Rich – “That’s Why I Pray”
Florida Georgia Line – “Cruise” (WINNER)
Love and Theft – “Runnin’ Out Of Air”
Thompson Square – “If I Didn’t Have You”

Dustin Lynch – “Cowboys and Angels”
Florida Georgia Line – “Cruise” (WINNER)
Jana Kramer – “Why Ya Wanna”
Kacey Musgraves – “Merry Go ‘Round”
Kip Moore – “Beer Money”
Randy Houser – “How Country Feels”

Brad Paisley and Joe Walsh – “Rocky Mountain Way,” from “CMT Crossroads: Joe Walsh & Friends”
Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church – “The Only Way I Know,” from 2012 CMA Awards (WINNER)
Kelly Clarkson featuring Vince Gill – “Don’t Rush,” from 2012 CMA Awards
Kenny Chesney and Tim McGraw – “Feel Like A Rockstar”
Rascal Flatts and Journey – “Changed,” from “CMT Crossroads: Journey and Rascal Flatts”
The Avett Brothers and Randy Travis – “Three Wooden Crosses” from “CMT Crossroads: The Avett Brothers and Randy Travis”

Dierks Bentley – “5-1-5-0” from “CMT Unplugged”
Eric Church – “Homeboy” from “2012 CMT Artists of the Year”
Luke Bryan and Ryan Tedder – “Drunk On You/Feel Again” from “2012 CMT Artists of the Year”
Miranda Lambert – “Over You” from “2012 CMT Artists of the Year” (WINNER)
Rascal Flatts and Journey – “Don’t Stop Believin’” from “CMT Crossroads: Journey and Rascal Flatts”
Toby Keith – “Beers Ago” from “2012 CMT Artists of the Year”