Sarah MacLean

Washington Post romance columnist Sarah MacLean won a RITA Award Saturday night for her latest romance novel, “No Good Duke Goes Unpunished” (Avon).

The RITA Awards are presented annually by the Romance Writers of America, an association of about 10,000 authors and publishers. MacLean took the prize for best historical romance at the ceremony held in San Antonio, Texas.

(Courtesy of Avon) (Courtesy of Avon)

“I’m so thrilled to have won the RITA,” MacLean wrote via email after the ceremony. “The award is particularly special because it is given by other romance authors. It’s deeply rewarding and not a little humbling to be honored by such a talented tribe of writers. It’s a fabulous time to be writing romance . . . and reading it!”

This is her second RITA Award. She won the prize for best historical novel last year for “A Rogue By Any Other Name.”

MacLean, who lives in Brooklyn, started reviewing romance novels earlier this year for The Washington Post. Every month, she chooses her favorite three new books. You can read her latest column here.

In June, she spoke about what makes the perfect beach read.

Here are the RITA winners in the other romance categories:

Short Contemporary: “Why Resist a Rebel?,” by Leah Ashton.

Suspense: “Off the Edge,” by Carolyn Crane.

Novella: “Take Me, Cowboy,” by Jane Porter

Inspirational: “Five Days in Skye,” by Carla Laureano.

Contemporary: “Crazy Thing Called Love,” by Molly O’Keefe.

Erotic: “Claim Me,” by J. Kenner

Paranormal: “The Firebird,” by Susanna Kearsley.

Best First Book: “The Sweet Spot,” by Laura Drake.