The National Building Museum honors broadcaster Charlie Rose with the 2014 Vincent Scully Prize for his work exploring the value of good design.

Rose, who is executive editor and anchor of his own PBS talk show and co-anchor of “CBS This Morning,” will receive the award Nov. 18 at a gala celebration at the museum. Architect Frank Gehry, Amanda Burden, a former director of the New York City Department of City Planning, and PBS executive Paula Kerger are expected to speak.

A public ceremony and lecture by Rose will be held Nov. 19 at 6:30 p.m. at the museum. Writer and radio host Kurt Anderson will interview Rose to close the program.

Named for Yale University professor emeritus Vincent Scully, the annual prize recognizes “exemplary scholarship, criticism or practice in architecture, historic preservation or urban design,” according to the museum.

During his 25-year career as a television host, Rose has interviewed leaders of architecture and design and led “insightful and substantive conversations” about the growth of cities and urban development.

In a statement, Rose said he was honored to receive the prize “named for a man I have known, admired and interviewed.”

“One of the great joys of spending 25 years at the table is meeting a cross-section of the best in culture and science and technology,” Rose said. “I have a special place for the men and women who inspire us with the buildings they create. Architecture is a passion of mine and I’ve been proud to know not only architects but also those who teach, assess, and love great buildings.”

Among those Rose has interviewed recently are architect Rem Koolhaas:

and Tom Pritzker, chairman and CEO of the Pritzker organization and its 2014 prize to Shigeru Ban:

The National Building Museum established the Scully Prize in 1999 to honor the academic legacy of Scully. Previous winners include former Environmental Protection Agency head William K. Reilly, teacher, author and architect Robert A.M. Stern, architects Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk and Andres Duany and His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales.