(Bruce Bennett/Getty)


NHL realignment may take place for the 2013-14 season but it is unclear what the new landscape would look like. Saturday night, CBC’s Elliotte Friedman reported what the latest realignment proposal looks like.

It’s still an unbalanced four conference plan, like the one that the NHL tried to install last season before it was summarily rejected by the NHLPA.

The two Eastern conferences would have eight teams each while the two in the West would have seven. A wild-card scenario is part of the discussion for the teams in the East according to Friedman, but the details are murky. The biggest changes in this plan from the one proposed by the league last year is that Detroit and Columbus would receive their wish to move into the Eastern time zone.

From Friedman’s report here’s what the four proposed conferences would look like, beginning with the one the Capitals would be in:

Conference 1: Washington Capitals, Pittsburgh Penguins, Philadelphia Flyers, New York Rangers, New York Islanders, New Jersey Devils, Carolina Hurricanes and Columbus Blue Jackets.

Conference 2: Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning and Toronto Maple Leafs.

Conference 3: Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Lous Blues and Winnipeg Jets.

Conference 4: Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks and Vancouver Canucks.