The Washington Post

AWARDS ROUNDUP: Eisners HOF deadline Monday; political cartoonists honored


AMID THE HEIGHT of comics awards season, the announcements and deadlines seem to pepper the schedule each week.

Monday, for example, is the deadline for all eligible voters to cast their ballots for the 2014 Eisner Hall of Fame inductees, who are saluted in July at San Diego Comic-Con.

From this field of HOF 14 contenders, voters may pick four:

Gus Arriola, Howard Cruse, Philippe Druillet, Rube Goldberg, Fred Kida, Hayao Miyazaki, Tarpé Mills, Alan Moore, Francoise Mouly, Dennis O’Neil, Antonio Prohias, Rumiko Takahashi, George Tuska and Bernie Wrightson.

The Eisners earlier named the judges’ automatic three Hall of Fame inductees: Golden Age artists Irwin Hasen and Sheldon Moldoff and African American comics pioneer Orrin C. Evans.

(To determine whether you’re eligible to vote, CLICK to see the contest’s criteria as an industry professional.)

The Eisners will be presented at a formal ceremony July 25 in San Diego, during Comic-Con.


ELSEWHERE, a half-dozen political cartoonists have been honored in recent days:

The Detroit Free Press’s Mike Thompson has won the Editorial Cartooning prize for the National Headliner Awards. Nate Beeler of the Columbus Dispatch placed second, and Wisconsin-based cartoonist Stuart Carlson of the Universal UClick syndicate was third.

The honors, which recognize “the best in journalism,” were founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City.

 AND the Reuben Awards announced that Clay Bennett of the Chattanooga Times Free Press (who early this month was named runner-up for the Herblock Prize), Adam Zyglis of the Buffalo News (who early this month won the National Press Foundation’s Berryman Award) and Mike Ramirez of Investors Business Daily are the Editorial Cartooning finalists for the National Cartoonists Society’s divisional awards.

The NCS named its finalists in 15 categories, ranging from Magazine Gag Cartooons to Online Comics.

In February, the NCS announced the four nominees for the group’s “Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year” Reuben Award: Wiley Miller (“Non Sequitur”), Stephan Pastis (“Pearls Before Swine”), Hilary Price (“Rhymes With Orange”) and Mark Tatulli (“Lio” and “Heart of the City”).

The winners will be announced May 24 in San Diego at the NCS Reuben Awards dinner.


Writer/artist/visual storyteller Michael Cavna is creator of the "Comic Riffs" column and graphic-novel reviewer for The Post's Book World. He relishes sharp-eyed satire in most any form.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read
Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
This isn't your daddy's gun club
A look inside the world of Candomblé
It's in the details: Five ways to enhance your kitchen makeover
Play Videos
A fighter pilot helmet with 360 degrees of sky
The rise and fall of baseball cards
Is fencing the answer to brain health?
Play Videos
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
How to prevent 'e-barrassment'
The art of tortilla-making
Play Videos
Circus nuns: These sisters are no act
How hackers can control your car from miles away
How the new credit card chip makes purchases more secure
Next Story
Michael Cavna · March 29, 2014

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.