Kim Deitch, Nick Drnaso, Sophie Goldstein and Jason Shiga are among the multiple nominees for the 2014 Ignatz Awards, the Small Press Expo announced Monday.

courtesy of SPX 2014.

The Ignatz, named for George Herriman’s famed “Krazy Kat” character, honors “excellence in independent comics.”

The ballot is created by five cartoonists, and this year’s jurors were Darryl Ayo, Austin English, Melissa Mendes, Thien Pham and Whit Taylor.

SPX: Small Press Expo will be Sept. 13-14 at the North Bethesda Marriott convention center in suburban Washington. Attendees may vote during festival hours on Sept. 13; the Ignatz ceremony, which is open to the public, is held that evening.

(Disclosure: The Ignatz Awards ceremony is sponsored by comixology, which is newly owned by Amazon; Amazon founder Jeff Bezos owns The Washington Post. The corporate ties, they abound.)

And now for this year’s nominees:

Outstanding Artist
Sam Bosma — Fantasy Basketball
Kim Deitch — The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley
Sophie Goldstein — Darwin Carmichael Is Going to Hell; Edna II; House of Women
Ed Piskor — Hip Hop Family Tree (Vol. 1)
Jesse Reklaw — Coach Tag

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Amazing Facts and Beyond, by Kevin Huizenga and Dan Zettwoch
The End, by Anders Nilsen
Eye of the Majestic Creature (Vol. 2), by Leslie Stein
QU33R, edited by Robert Kirby
Sock Monkey Treasury, by Tony Millionaire

Outstanding Graphic Novel
The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley, by Kim Deitch
The Boxer, Reinhard Kleist
Boxers & Saints, by Gene Luen Yang
This One Summer, by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki
War of Streets and Houses, Sophie Yanow

Outstanding Story
“Brownout Biscuit” (from Octopus Pie): Dead Forever, by Meredith Gran
“Destination X,” by Jon Martz
“The Grassy Knoll,” by Nick Drnaso
“Jobs,” Life Zone, by Simon Hanselmann
“Mom,” Viewotron #2, by Sam Sharpe

Promising New Talent
Luke Howard — Trevor
Cathy G. Johnson – Jeremiah; Boy Genius; Until It Runs Clear
Nick Offerman — Orange; Onions
Keiler Roberts — Powdered Milk (series)
Daryl Seitchik — Missy

Outstanding Series
The Black Feather Falls, Ellen Lindner
Demon, by Jason Shiga
Powdered Milk, by Keiler Roberts
Sky in Stereo, by Sacha Mardou
Towerkind, by Kat Verhoeven

Outstanding Comic
Blammo #8, by Noah Van Sciver
Cosplayers, by Dash Shaw
It Will All Hurt #2, by Farel Dalrymple
Misliving Amended, by Adam Buttrick
Wicked Chicken Queen, by Sam Alden

Outstanding Minicomic
The Grassy Knoll, by Nick Drnaso
House of Women, by Sophie Goldstein
Never Forgets, by Yumi Sakugawa
Test Tube #1, by Carlos Gonzales
Up to the Top, by Ian Sampson

Outstanding Online Comic
Band for Life, Anya Davidson
Big Dogs at Nite, Dane Martin
Demon, Jason Shiga
On Hiatus, Pete Toms
Vattu, Evan Dahm