Al Jaffee's self-portrait for MAD. (courtesy of Baltimore Comic-Con)
Al Jaffee’s self-portrait for MAD. (Courtesy of Baltimore Comic-Con)

AL JAFFEE made it clear what his creative priorities had been during a talk Saturday at Baltimore Comic-Con. The MAD magazine legend embraced those “Eureka!” moments when they came along — such as his 1964 inspiration that led to his creation of the back-page fold-in that became his calling card — but most of the time, he was focused only on the belief that they were one-shot gags to meet that next deadline.

Yet deadline after deadline, month after month, Jaffee’s inspiration never seemed to wane as he built a hall-of-fame career that resulted in April, upon his 95th birthday, in his being officially recognized as having the longest career (73 years) as a comics artist, according to Guinness World Records.

And just hours after Jaffee shared his insights with me during his hour-long spotlight panel on Saturday afternoon, he officially received the Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award at the ceremony for the Harvey Awards, which are named for the very editor who first hired Jaffee at MAD in the ’50s.

Also inducted into the Harveys’ Hall of Fame was the late Carl Barks, who is best known for his Donald Duck comics, including his creation of Scrooge McDuck.

A scene from “March: Book Two” (Courtesy of Top Shelf)

Elsewhere, “March: Book Two” (Top Shelf) continued to rack up the honors this summer. The Eisner-winning second installment in Rep. John Lewis’s civil-rights memoir, co-written by staffer Andrew Aydin, won for best original graphic album and best biographical/historical presentation.

“We’re all thrilled — there’s so much strong work being released by such powerful voices these days, and it means that much more to be recognized amidst a sea of talented peers and friends,” Nate Powell, the “March” trilogy artist, tells The Post’s Comic Riffs. “There’s a lot by which to remain continually inspired.”

The Vision. (Courtesy of Marvel)

Another comics creator with Washington area ties, CIA agent-turned-writer Tom King, won most promising new talent for his work on Marvel’s “The Vision.”

SAGA. (Courtesy of Image Comics)

Among the evening’s other big winners: Image’s “Saga” received four awards, including twin individual wins for artist Fiona Staples; and the BOOM! Studios anthology “Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz” garnered three trophies.

“Bloom County 2015,” by Berkeley Breathed / courtesy of Universal Uclick 2015

Here is the full list of 2016 Harvey Award winners:

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: BLOOM COUNTY, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

Best Online Comics Work: BATTLEPUG, Mike Norton

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Tie: TWO BROTHERS, Dark Horse Books and CORTO MALTESE: BEYOND THE WINDY ISLES, IDW Publishing

Best New Series: PAPER GIRLS, Image Comics

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: LUMBERJANES, BOOM! Box/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album Previously Published: THE LESS THAN EPIC ADVENTURES OF TJ AND AMAL, Iron Circus Comics

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Domestic Reprint Project: CRIMSON VOL. 1, BOOM! Studios

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions


Best Graphic Album Original: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions

Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA, Image Comics

Best Single Issue or Story: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, BOOM! Studios

Best Cartoonist: Stan Sakai, USAGI YOJIMBO

Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Inker: Klaus Janson, DARK KNIGHT III: THE MASTER RACE, DC Comics

Best Colorist: Laura Allred, SILVER SURFER, Marvel Comics

Best Letterer: John Workman, RAGNAROK, IDW Publishing

Most Promising New Talent: Tom King, THE VISION, Marvel Comics

Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, HOWARD THE DUCK, Marvel Comics

Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Carl Barks, Al Jaffee

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Beth Widera

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giella