The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Small Press Expo: Here are your 2016 Ignatz Award winners, including new talent Tillie Walden

(courtesy of Small Press Expo 2016)

Young comics creator Tillie Walden was a double winner at the Ignatz Awards ceremony, held Saturday evening during the Small Press Expo in suburban Washington.

Walden was voted outstanding artist for her debut graphic novel, “The End of Summer,” and named most promising new talent for “I Love This Part.”

Elsewhere, former Brooklyn studiomates Kate Beaton, Lisa Hanawalt and Meredith Gran all picked up Ignatz “brick” trophies. The event was held at the Bethesda North Marriott convention center.

Here is the full list of the 2016 Ignatz Award winners (marked in bold):

Outstanding artist
Daniel Clowes, for “Patience”
Ryan Heshka, for “Mean Girls Club”
Kevin Huizenga, for “Ganges”
Noah Van Sciver, for “Disquiet”
Tillie Walden, for “The End of Summer”

Outstanding anthology or collection
“Beverly,” by Nick Drnaso
“Beyond: The Queer Sci Fi and Fantasy Anthology,” edited by Sfé R. Monster and Taneka Stotts
“The Complete Wimmen’s Comix,” edited by Trina Robbins
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine
“Step Aside Pops,” by Kate Beaton

Outstanding graphic novel
“Hot Dog Taste Test,” by Lisa Hanawalt
“Nod Away,” by Josh Cotter
“Sick,” by Gabby Schulz
“Soldier’s Heart,” by Carol Tyler
“Trashed,” by Derf Backderf

Outstanding story
“The Hunter,” by Joe Sparrow
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine
“Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam” from Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam and Other Stories, by Simon Hanselmann
My Hot Date, by Noah Van Sciver
“Shrine of the Monkey God,” by Kim Deitch from Kramers Ergot 9

Promising new talent
Kevin Budnik, for “Handbook”
Maia Kobabe, for “Tom O’Bedlam”
Sara Lautman, for “The Ultimate Laugh, Grape Nuts”
Carolyn Nowak, for “Radishes”
Tillie Walden, for “I Love This Part”

Outstanding series
“Cartozia Tales,” edited by Isaac Cates
“Demon,” by Jason Shiga
“Ganges,” by Kevin Huizenga
“Megg & Mogg & Owl,” by Simon Hanselmann
“Powdered Milk,” by Keiler Roberts

Outstanding comic
“As the Crow Flies,” by Melanie Gillman
“Be Good,” by John Martz
“Fantasy Sports No. 1,” by Sam Bosma
“Patience,” by Daniel Clowes
“Shrine of the Monkey God,” by Kim Deitch from Kramers Ergot 9

Outstanding minicomic
“The Experts,” by Sophie Franz
“Laffy Meal,” by Pranas T. Naujokaitis
“Maps to the Suns,” by Sloane Leong
“Radishes,” by Carolyn Nowak
“The Unofficial Cuckoo’s Nest,” by Luke Healy

Outstanding online comic
“A Cartoonist’s Diary” [], by Rina Ayuyang
“Just Doing My Job” [], by Gynnis Fawkes
“Octopus Pie” [], by Meredith Gran
“A Small Revolution” [], by Samantha Leriche-Gionet (AKA “Boum”)
“Vattu” [], by Evan Dahm