The Washington Post

Sean McVay beat out Calvin Johnson for a player of the year award

(Leon Halip/Getty Images)

When you’re giving out awards to high school football players, you’re supposed to be making your choices off their prep accomplishments and not their pro potential. And yet, looking back, you always kind of cringe when someone who didn’t win goes on to be a massive professional star.

Thus, in 2000, The Post’s All-Met offensive player of the year was Nate Ilaoa. Among those he beat out for the honor was Josh Cribbs.

In 2001, our All-Met offensive player of the year was Terry Caulley. Vernon Davis was the second-team tight end. (Ahmad Brooks the defensive player of the year. Nailed that one.)

In 2002, our offensive player of the year was Redskins preseason hero Marcus Mason. Davis was the first-team tight end, while Eddie Royal was a second-team wide receiver. Meanwhile, Wesley Jefferson was the defensive player of the year, over Josh Wilson, among others.

In 2003, Royal won the offensive award, which was good, but in 2004 Cordarrow Thompson beat out NaVorro Bowman on the defensive side, while Ike Whitaker topped Evan Royster for the offensive award.

It’s an inexact science, is the point.

That said, a tipster recently advised me to check out the Georgia Sports Writers Association selections for the all-state football team in 2003.

The AAAA offensive player of the year was a quarterback named Sean McVay, who would go on to become the Redskins’ offensive coordinator.

Among those he beat out was a 6-foot-5, 215-pound wide receiver named Calvin Johnson.

Johnson caught 40 passes for 820 yards and eight touchdowns that season. McVay, listed at 5-10 and 180 pounds, led Marist to a state championship by rushing and passing for more than 1,000 yards each. So he likely had the better high school season. But dang, a high school sports section that listed Sean McVay ahead of Calvin Johnson would be a pretty surprising artifact.

Dan Steinberg writes about all things D.C. sports at the D.C. Sports Bog.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Don’t be ‘that’ sports parent | On Parenting
Miss Manners: The technology's changed, but the rules are the same
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Play Videos
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
Kids share best advice from mom
Using Fitbit to help kids lose weight
Play Videos
This man's job is binge-watching for Netflix
Transgender swimmer now on Harvard men's team
Portland's most important meal of the day
Play Videos
5 ways to raise girls to be leaders
How much can one woman eat?
The signature drink of New Orleans
Next Story
Sarah Kogod · January 22, 2014