What number should DeSean Jackson wear for Redskins?

(Matt Rourke, AP)

Now that DeSean Jackson and the Redskins have reached a deal, attention turns to the important questions, like what number will Jackson wear?

Jackson has worn No. 10 throughout his NFL career. Robert Griffin III, the Redskins’ current owner of those digits, says the name on the front of Jackson’s jersey is more important than the number.

Assuming Griffin doesn’t part with No. 10, Jackson still can’t go back to the No. 1 he wore at Cal and in high school at Long Beach Poly, because single digits are reserved for quarterbacks and specialists in the NFL. Wide receivers wear 10-19, or 80-89.

The list of former Redskins players who have worn No. 1 includes the late Reggie Roby, Matt Turk and Ryan Plackemeier. John Potter wore it in three games last year before being released. But maybe Jackson could go with two 1s and become 11?

Jackson could also go back to whichever number he wore with the Marlins.

[polldaddy poll=7935051]

(Note: This item and poll have been updated based on the NFL’s uniform rules. The poll originally included “1” as an option; that was changed to 11.)

Scott Allen writes about all things D.C. sports. Follow him on Twitter @ScottSAllen or e-mail him if you’ve got a tip to share.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Scott Allen · April 2, 2014

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.