(LM Otero/AP) (LM Otero/AP)

American Airlines will drop direct service from Reagan National Airport to 17 cities as part of the agreement it struck with the U.S. Department of Justice that allowed it to merge with US Airways, American announced Wednesday. The slots it gave up at Reagan will be auctioned off to other airlines. Those airlines are not bound to serve the same cities, and analysts said it’s unlikely that they will want to serve the cities where routes were less lucrative. The cities dropped by American are:

Augusta, Ga.

Detroit, Mich.

Fayetteville, N.C.

Fort Walton Beach, Fla.

Islip, N.Y.

Jacksonville, N.C.

Little Rock, Ark.

Minneapolis, Minn.


Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Nassau, Bahamas

Omaha, Neb.

Pensacola, Fla.

San Diego, Calif.

Savannah, Ga.

Tallahassee, Fla.

Wilmington, N.C.