Aaron Craft’s buzz-beater finished Iowa State. (Joe Robbins / Getty Images)

“Chico, please.”

With those words, trending on Twitter, Charles Barkley ended an epic rant on a call that helped sink Iowa State 78-75 in its game against Ohio State. Aaron Craft hit a buzzer beater, helped just moments earlier by a call by Karl Hess, who whistled Will Clyburn for a charge when he barreled into Craft. Ohio State’s free throw tied the score and then, well, Craft did what he did — all thanks, as Sir Charles, pointed out, to “a turrible call by the officials.”


On CBS, John Adams, the NCAA’s officiating director, discussed the play immediately afterward, and essentially agreed.

“Incredibly hard play. Incredibly hard play. I agree with you,” Adams said to Anthony, who’d said the call was wrong. “What we ask of these guys is get in the best position and do your best to make the call and he met every one of those challenges that we give them in every game.”

It’s a non-reviewable call, he added. Replays showed that Craft’s heel was not touching the restricted-area arc and, when a player’s feet are on or above that line, it’s a blocking foul.

In a statement to a pool reporter in Dayton, Adams said: “I spoke with the official, and he determined the defender established legal guarding position outside the restricted area prior to the offensive player leading the floor to start his shot. When asked, the official said he did not see the defender’s foot over the restricted area line. By rule this is not a reviewable play.”


(via Buzzfeed Sports)

 

 

 

 

 

 

H/T Buzzfeed Sports for GIF, closeup image