Former Duke player Christian Laettner is still a polarizing figure. (AP/John Bazemore)

At halftime of Saturday’s national semifinal between Syracuse and Michigan, the NCAA honored the 15 greatest players in tournament history as picked by fan voting. The ceremony to mark the 75th Final Four brought together an amazing collection of talent together that included Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Patrick Ewing, Danny Manning and Bill Walton. Here’s the full list of honorees.

These guys who you may have heard of were there, too.

Former Duke star Christian Laettner was there, too. Not only did he make the cut with this elite group, but fans voted his buzzer-beater vs. Kentucky in the 1992 Elite Eight as the greatest moment in tournament history. Go ahead, watch it again.

But Laettner has always been a pretty polarizing guy. In fact, he won another important fan vote this month, triumphing in Grantland’s Most Hated College Basketball tournament.

On Saturday in Atlanta, fans did not react positively to Laettner’s halftime appearance. Naturally, the rousing boos directed at the former Blue Devil drew a variety of reactions from the Twitterverse.


Louisville rallies into national final

Conference realignment casts shadow on Final Four

Luke Hancock makes his mark

An imbalance of power in NCAA

Hamilton: Breaks, lies and videotape