Tiger Woods accepted his two-stroke penalty assessed because of an illegal drop Friday and, despite calls for him to withdraw from the Masters, headed to the practice tee ahead of his 1:45 p.m. EDT tee time.
In a statement on Twitter, Woods said:
At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules. I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees’ decision.