The Washington Post

Tiger Woods prepares for third round of Masters after penalty

Tiger Woods gets back to business. (Darron Cummings / AP)

Tiger Woods accepted his two-stroke penalty assessed because of an illegal drop Friday and, despite calls for him to withdraw from the Masters, headed to the practice tee ahead of his 1:45 p.m. EDT tee time.

In a statement on Twitter, Woods said:

At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules. I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees’ decision.

Follow @CindyBoren on Twitter and on Facebook.


Woods penalized two strokes

Woods’s penalty is a Saturday surprise at Masters

Woods finds adventure on 15 Friday

After spending most of her career in traditional print sports journalism, Cindy began blogging and tweeting, first as NFL/Redskins editor, and, since August 2010, at The Early Lead. She also is the social media editor for Sports.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.
Next Story
Cindy Boren · April 13, 2013