Baltimore Orioles’ Adam Jones is one of the contestants in this year’s home run derby. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)

MLB’s all-star events start Monday night at 8 p.m. ET at Target Field in Minneapolis with the revamped home run derby.

New format:

1) Both the American League and National league teams will now have five contestants each instead of the usual four.

2) Contestants get seven outs per round instead of ten.

3) The player from each league who hits the most home runs will automatically advance to round three.

4) The next two participants with the most runs from each league face off in the second round, while the bottom two players from each league with the lowest home run counts are eliminated.

5) The semifinal winners (one from each league) will compete for the title. The bracket format ensures that a player from each league will face off in the final round.


American League

  • Jose Bautista, Blue Jays (captain)
  • Adam Jones, Orioles
  • Brian Dozier, Twins
  • Yoenis Cespedes, A’s
  • Josh Donalson, A’s

National League

  • Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies (captain)
  • Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins
  • Yasiel Puig, Dodgers
  • Todd Frazier, Reds
  • Justin Morneau, Rockies

What: 2014 MLB Home Run Derby

When: July 14 at 8 p.m. ET

Where: Target Field in Minneapolis


(H/T For the Win)