The Washington Post

NLRB finally working with full slate of board members

The National Labor Relations Board swore in four Senate-confirmed members on Monday, marking the first time that the panel has worked with a full slate of approved members in nearly a decade.

President Obama tried to bypass the Senate confirmation process in January 2012, appointing three members to the board while lawmakers were on break. However, a three-judge panel of the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that the placements were unconstitutional.

(Jon Elswick /AP) (Jon Elswick /AP)

The Constitution allows so-called “recess appointments” while the Senate is on break, but it does not specify how long lawmakers must be gone before the president can use that option.

Obama placed three members on the board when the Senate was out of town but convening with one GOP lawmaker every three days to prevent recess appointments, copying a tactic Democrats had used during the George W. Bush administration.

Obama renominated two of the recess appointees this year along with three other picks for the panel, but Republicans indicated they would not confirm some of the selections. Lawmakers last month resolved the conflict with a bipartisan deal in which Republicans agreed to stop stalling the confirmation process in exchange for Democrats not trying to change filibuster rules with the so-called “nuclear option.”

The NLRB case has moved to the Supreme Court, where the final decision will determine the validity of hundreds of board rulings that took place with the controversial appointees in place.

The newly sworn-in NLRB members are: Nancy Schiffer, associate general counsel at the AFL-CIO;  Kent Hirozawa, who is chief counsel to NLRB chairman Mark Gaston Pearce; and labor attorneys Harry Johnson and Philip Miscimarra. The fifth board member is current chairman Mark Gaston Pearce.

To connect with Josh Hicks, follow his Twitter feed, friend his Facebook page or e-mail josh.hicks@washpost.comFor more federal news, visit The Federal Eye, The Fed Page and Post Politics. E-mail with news tips and other suggestions.

Josh Hicks covers Maryland politics and government. He previously anchored the Post’s Federal Eye blog, focusing on federal accountability and workforce issues.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
The Democrats debate Thursday. Get caught up on the race.
The big questions after New Hampshire, from The Post's Dan Balz
Can Bernie Sanders cut into Hillary Clinton's strength in the minority community and turn his challenge into a genuine threat? And can any of the Republicans consolidate anti-Trump sentiment in the party in time to stop the billionaire developer and reality-TV star, whose unorthodox, nationalistic campaign has shaken the foundations of American politics?
Clinton in New Hampshire: 2008 vs. 2015
Hillary Clinton did about as well in N.H. this year as she did in 2008, percentage-wise. In the state's main counties, Clinton performed on average only about two percentage points worse than she did eight years ago (according to vote totals as of Wednesday morning) -- and in five of the 10 counties, she did as well or better.
Upcoming debates
Feb. 11: Democratic debate

on PBS, in Wisconsin

Feb 13: GOP debate

on CBS News, in South Carolina

Feb. 25: GOP debate

on CNN, in Houston, Texas

Campaign 2016
Where the race stands

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.