On Wednesday evening, the Partnership for Public Service announced this year’s recipients of the Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals. The awards, given out each fall to federal workers who have shown excellence and leadership in their fields, come during the same week that a government shutdown has furloughed roughly half of the federal workforce.

Winners come from across the federal government, working for NASA, the State Department and the National Institutes of Health—and of the nine recipients, four are among those furloughed. The awards ceremony will take place at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium on Thursday evening.

In this gallery, you can take a look through the medal recipients, as well as the finalists in each category.