The Washington Post

‘Sammie’ winners meet President Obama

President Obama on Thursday met with the finalists and winners of the Samuel J. Heyman Service to America awards, which recognize federal workers for exceptional service.

President Obama meets with Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals finalists and winners in the East Room of the White House on Oct. 23. (Pete Souza/The White House)

This year’s medal for Federal Employee of the Year went to Tara Palmore and Julie Segre, who made groundbreaking use of DNA sequencing to end the 2011 outbreak of a hospital-acquired “superbug” that killed seven patients and sickened many others. The two NIH workers used DNA to map a deadly bacteria’s path and help stop its spread.

All told, the “Sammies” include nine awards in categories ranging from Career Achievement to the more specific Homeland Security and Law Enforcement.

View all of the award recipients with the Post’s slideshow of 2013 Service to America winners.

To connect with Josh Hicks, follow his Twitter feed or e-mail  josh.hicks@washpost.comFor more federal news, visit The Federal Eye, The Fed Page and Post Politics. E-mail with news tips and other suggestions.

Josh Hicks covers Maryland politics and government. He previously anchored the Post’s Federal Eye blog, focusing on federal accountability and workforce issues.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.
Next Story
Josh Hicks · October 24, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.