The Washington Post

Redskins select G Kory Lichtensteiger for Ed Block Courage Award

Kory Lichtensteiger has started every game this season after recovering from a torn ACL and MCL. (Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post).

The Redskins Tuesday announced left guard Kory Lichtensteiger as winner of their  Ed Block Courage Award in recognition of his recovery from two torn ligaments in his right knee. Lichtensteiger tore his ACL and MCL in 2011 and has returned to start every game this season.

Lichtensteiger suffered the injury in Washington’s fifth game last season and spent the offseason rehabbing. Early in training camp, he had to have arthroscopic surgery on the same knee and missed the entire preseason.

The fourth-year pro returned to action by the start of the season and has started every game, helping to pave the way for the league’s leading rushing attack.

“It’s pretty tough when a guy comes off a knee injury on the offensive line and is asked to do the things he’s been asked to do, because it started in training camp,” Redskins coach Mike Shanahan said of Lichtensteiger. “He didn’t get a lot of reps. We wanted to make sure he was healthy for the regular season. He’s done everything that we’ve asked him to do. He’s played at a very high level. He’s very competitive.”

“He does everything we ask him to do both in the running game and in the passing game. He’s a perfectionist even though perfection doesn’t always occur in the National Football League, especially in the offensive line.

Said Lichtensteiger: “It’s something that the players vote on and your teammates vote on, so to get that vote of confidence from them and to see that they understand how many hardships I’ve had to go through [with the] rehab of the knee, I think it’s very cool. I’m very honored by it.”

Each team selects a player as its Ed Block Courage Award winner. Those 32 players are nominated for the league-wide honor, which is announced during the postseason.

Mike Jones covers the Washington Redskins for The Washington Post. When not writing about a Redskins development of some kind – which is rare – he can be found screaming and cheering at one of his kids’ softball, baseball, soccer or basketball games.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Don’t be ‘that’ sports parent | On Parenting
Miss Manners: The technology's changed, but the rules are the same
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Play Videos
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
Kids share best advice from mom
Using Fitbit to help kids lose weight
Play Videos
This man's job is binge-watching for Netflix
Transgender swimmer now on Harvard men's team
Portland's most important meal of the day
Play Videos
5 ways to raise girls to be leaders
How much can one woman eat?
The signature drink of New Orleans
Next Story
Mike Jones · December 18, 2012