Redskins 2013 opponents

Redskins Coach Mike Shanahan will return to Denver as an opposing coach next season. (Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post)

Redskins Coach Mike Shanahan will make his return to Denver – the place where he won two Super Bowls – in 2013, according the the NFL, which on Monday released a list of the opponents that all 32 teams will face next season.

The matchups are determined by a scheduling formula implemented in 2002 to ensure that all teams play each other on a regular, rotating basis. The Redskins will of course play home and away games against their NFC East opponents and also will play two games against NFC North teams, and host two NFC North teams. Washington will also face this year’s top two NFC teams, as well as the four teams of the AFC West.

The dates, orders and times of the teams will not be released until the spring.

But the Redskins know that they will host the Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, San Francisco 49ers, Kansas City Chiefs and San Diego Chargers.

The Redskins also will play road games against the Denver Broncos, whom Shanahan coached from 1995-2008, the Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Falcons, Oakland Raiders, Green Bay Packers and at Dallas, Philadelphia and New York.

Mike Jones covers the Washington Redskins for The Washington Post. When not writing about a Redskins development of some kind – which is rare – he can be found screaming and cheering at one of his kids’ softball, baseball, soccer or basketball games.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Mike Jones · December 31, 2012

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.