The Washington Post

Robert Griffin, Alfred Morris, London Fletcher honored

Robert Griffin III was selected as the Pro Football Weekly/Pro Football Writers of America rookie of the year and offensive rookie of the year. (Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post)

Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III was named Pro Football Weekly/Pro Football Writers of America Rookie of the Year and NFL offensive rookie of the year, the team announced Monday.

The annual award is selected by Pro Football Weekly editors and contributors along with members of the pro football writers group.

Griffin completed 258 of 393 passes for 3,200 yards, 20 touchdowns and only five interceptions during his rookie campaign, posting a passer rating of 102.4. He also carried the ball 120 times for 815 yards and seven touchdowns. Griffin’s 102.4 passer rating, his 1.3 interception percentage and 814 rushing yards all are NFL records for rookies.

The honor is a good sign for Griffin, who also is a candidate for the Associated Press rookie of the year honor, which is considered the main rookie of the year award and will be announced on Feb. 2. The Rams’ Sam Bradford and the Panthers’ Cam Newton won PFW/PFWA rookie of the year honors and then went on to win the AP rookie of the year.

Griffin’s teammates Alfred Morris and London Fletcher earned second-team honors on the Associated Press’s All-Pro team this past weekend.

Morris rushed for 1,613 yards (second in the NFL) and 13 touchdowns this season. Minnesota’s Adrian Peterson and Seattle’s Marshawn Lynch earned first-team nods ahead of Morris.

Fletcher recorded 139 tackles, eighth-most in the NFL, and five interceptions (tops among linebackers) as well as three sacks.

Making the first team ahead of Fletcher were San Francisco inside linebackers Patrick Willis and NaVorro Bowman.

Mike Jones covers the Washington Redskins for The Washington Post. When not writing about a Redskins development of some kind – which is rare – he can be found screaming and cheering at one of his kids’ softball, baseball, soccer or basketball games.
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.