Evan Royster was among those cut Saturday. (Geoff Burke/USA Today Sports)

The Washington Redskins announced that they have finalized their 53-man roster by cutting offensive lineman Maurice Hurt and placing wide receiver Leonard Hankerson and defensive end Stephen Bowen on the physically unable to perform list.

As members of the PUP list, Hankerson and Bowen can’t begin practicing until after Week 6.

Those moves, plus the roster moves from this morning and this afternoon, and the eight from Friday evening, put Washington at the league limit of 53 players.

As a recap, the Redskins this morning waived place kicker Zach Hocker, cornerback Chase Minnifield, running backs Evan Royster, Chris Thompson and Lache Seastrunk, wide receiver Nick Williams and safety Phillip Thomas. The Redskins also released outside linebacker Everette Brown. Strong safety Brandon Meriweather was placed on the reserve/suspended list at 4 p.m. Saturday.

Washington placed nose tackle Chris Neild on injured reserve after he tore the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee on Thursday. The team also placed inside linebacker Darryl Sharpton on injured reserve with a high-ankle sprain.

On Friday, the Redskins waived tight end Ted Bolser, cornerback Richard Crawford, safety Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith, wide receiver Lee Doss, offensive linemen Kevin Kowalski and Tevita Stevens, punter Robert Malone and nose tackle Robert Thomas.

The Redskins can begin signing players to their practice squad at noon on Sunday.

Here’s a breakdown of the initial 53-man roster, position by position:

Quarterback – 3: Robert Griffin III, Kirk Cousins, Colt McCoy

Running back – 4: Alfred Morris, Roy Helu Jr., Silas Redd, fullback Darrell Young

Wide receiver – 6: Pierre Garcon, DeSean Jackson, Andre Roberts, Santana Moss, Aldrick Robinson, Ryan Grant

Tight end – 3: Jordan Reed, Logan Paulsen, Niles Paul

Offensive line – 9: T Trent Williams, G Shawn Lauvao, C Kory Lichtensteiger, G Chris Chester, T Tyler Polumbus, T Morgan Moses, G Spencer Long, G Josh LeRibeus, T Tom Compton

Defensive line – 7: DE Chris Baker, NT Barry Cofield, DE Jason Hatcher, DE Jarvis Jenkins, DE/NT Kedric Golston, DE Clifton Geathers, DE Frank Kearse

Linebacker – 9: OLB Ryan Kerrigan, ILB Keenan Robinson, ILB Perry Riley Jr., OLB Brian Orakpo, OLB Trent Murphy, ILB Adam Hayward, ILB Will Compton, ILB Akeem Jordan, OLB Gabe Miller

Cornerback – 5: DeAngelo Hall, David Amerson, E.J. Biggers, Bashaud Breeland, Tracy Porter

Safety – 4: Ryan Clark, Bacarri Rambo, Trenton Robinson, Akeem Davis

Specialists – 3: PK Kai Forbath, P Tress Way, LS Nick Sundberg

Follow Mike Jones and Liz Clarke on Twitter for up-to-the minute news. For all Insider posts involving roster moves, click here. The roster itself is here. For the league-wide transaction wire, click here.