D.C.'s best chefs will be crossing their fingers for a chance to go to Chicago next May. That's because for the first time ever, the James Beard Awards are moving from New York to the Windy City, where the restaurant and chef awards gala will take place on May 4, 2015.

(istock) (istock)

D.C. produced two James Beard Award winners in 2014. Rasika's Vikram Sunderam won Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic, after his fourth nomination. The Post's Eli Saslow won a James Beard writing award for his series on food stamps -- for which he also won a Pulitzer Prize -- in the category of food politics, policy and the environment.

Nicknamed "the Oscars of the food industry," the awards ceremony, which honors the country's best chefs, restaurants, and sommeliers, has taken place in New York for the past 24 years. The move to Chicago's Lyric Opera honors the city's impressive culinary scene, which has produced more than 40 James Beard Award winners. A separate awards ceremony for broadcasters, journalists and cookbook authors will continue to take place in New York.