Magdalen College at Oxford University in England. (Carl Court/Getty Images)

The British government announced Monday that 40 top U.S. students have been awarded prestigious Marshall scholarships, a 25 percent increase this year for a program that supports graduate studies in the United Kingdom.

Three scholars in the 2017 class are from the University of Virginia, two are from Georgetown University in Washington and one is from the University of Maryland at College Park.

Four are from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the largest delegation of Marshall Scholars named this year from a single school.

The program typically funds one or two years of study at a variety of British colleges and universities, including Oxford, Cambridge and the London School of Economics. Established in 1953, it was named for U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall, architect of the namesake plan that helped rebuild Europe after World War II.

“Marshall Scholars have traditionally represented some of the finest and brightest young minds from across the United States, and the 2017 class is shaping up to be among our most impressive yet,” Kim Darroch, the British ambassador to the United States, said in a statement.

In the previous class, there were 32 Marshall Scholars.

Here are this year’s scholars from the Washington region:

  • U-Va.: Abraham Axler, William Henagan, Sarah Koch
  • Georgetown: Seamus Caragher, Devika Ranjan
  • U-Md.: Aaron Solomon

Here are scholars from elsewhere:

  • Arizona State: Erin Schulte
  • Bowdoin: Bill De La Rosa
  • Brown: David Elitzer, Evan Silver
  • Carleton: Bailey Ulbricht
  • Claremont McKenna: Ian O’Grady
  • College of the Holy Cross: Victoria Mousley
  • CUNY-Hunter: Faiza Masood
  • MIT: Matthew Cavuto, Zachary Hulcher, Kevin Zhou and Daniel Zuo
  • Emory: Noam Kantor, Emilia Truluck
  • Harvard: Maille Radford, Julius Bright Ross and Reylon Yount
  • Middlebury: Hasher Nisar
  • Northwestern: Daniel Kinch
  • Princeton: Joani Etskovitz
  • Southern Methodist: Rahfin Faruk
  • St. Catherine: Taylor Harwood
  • Stanford: Alina Utrata
  • University of Chicago: Erin Simpson
  • University of Colorado at Boulder: Matthew Hurst
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Devin Weiss
  • University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth: Jacob Miller
  • University of Montana at Missoula: Rebecca Boslough
  • University of Texas at Austin: Bailey Anderson
  • UT at Dallas: Nancy Fairbank
  • University of Wisconsin at Madison: Deshawn McKinney
  • U.S. Air Force Academy: David Wagner
  • U.S. Military Academy: Samuel Ruppert
  • Westminster College: Debbie Samaniego

Read more:

‘I have to live up to the legacy.’ Washington-area students earn Rhodes scholarships