The Washington Post

Davey Johnson named National League Manager of the Year

(Kathy Kmonicek/Associated Press)

On the day after Bryce Harper captured the National League Rookie of the Year Award, Davey Johnson won the National League Manager of the Year award presented by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

In balloting done before the start of the playoffs, he beat out finalists Dusty Baker and Bruce Bochy, whom he once managed in the minor leagues. Johnson received 23 out of 32 first-place votes and scored 131 total votes, winning handily over Baker (77) and Bochy (61). Fredi Gonzalez, Bud Black and Mike Matheny rounded out the managers who received votes. 

Johnson guided the Nationals to their first winning season since baseball returned to Washington, surpassed their 2011 victory by 18 games en route to 98 victories. Here is a full story on Johnson’s award.

Adam Kilgore covers national sports for the Washington Post. Previously he served as the Post's Washington Nationals beat writer from 2010 to 2014.
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.