(Alex Brandon / AP)

For the 12th time in 12 games, the Nationals’ first seven hitters remains the same. For the Braves, Andrelton Simmons is back at shortstop, but they will not miss menace Ramiro Pena, who plays third today. The Nationals will try to become the first team to score an earned run off Braves left-hander Paul Maholm, and they’ll send Gio Gonzalez and his 0.82 ERA to the mound.


1. Denard Span, CF

2. Jayson Werth, RF

3. Bryce Harper, LF

4. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

5. Adam LaRoche, 1B

6. Ian Desmond, SS

7. Danny Espinosa, 2B

8. Kurt Suzuki, C

9. Gio Gonzalez, SP


1. B.J. Upton, CF

2. Jason Heyward, RF

3. Justin Upton, LF

4. Evan Gattis, C

5. Dan Uggla, 2B

6. Chris Johnson, 1B

7. Andrelton Simmons, SS

8. Ramiro Pena, 3B

9. Paul Maholm, SP