As expected, the Nationals officially designated Yunesky Maya, the Cuban defector and right-hander who turned out to be an ill-fated $6-million signing in 2010, for assignment in order to make room for call-up infielder-outfielder Jeff Kobernus.

He will wear No. 26 and is expected to bolster the Nationals bench while Danny Espinosa rests his fractured right wrist. Steve Lombardozzi starts in Espinosa’s stead and Kurt Suzuki will catch Dan Haren.

The game will be televised on Fox at 7:15 p.m.


1. Denard Span, CF

2. Bryce Harper, RF

3. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

4. Adam LaRoche, 1B

5. Ian Desmond, SS

6. Kurt Suzuki, C

7. Tyler Moore, LF

8. Steve Lombardozzi, 2B

9. Dan Haren, SP



1. Jimmy Rollins, SS

2. Freddy Galvis, 2B

3. Michael Young, 3B

4. Ryan Howard, 1B

5. Delmon Young, RF

6. Domonic Brown, LF

7. Erik Kratz, C

8. Ben Revere, CF

9. Jonathan Pettibone, SP