The Washington Post

Nationals pitchers for the first two Grapefruit League games

(Photo by Jonathan Newton / The Washington Post) (Photo by Jonathan Newton / The Washington Post)

Only two more practices remain before the Nationals take the field for the first baseball game of the season. The Nationals will play the New York Mets in Port St. Lucie on Friday and the lineup is already out. Taylor Jordan, who is competing for the fifth spot in the rotation, was tabbed to make the first start for the Nationals and is slated to toss only a couple innings. Jordan Zimmermann is slated to start the second game, a home game in Viera against the Atlanta Braves. Below is the lineup, again, followed by the pitching order for Game 1:

1. Nate McLouth, RF

2. Danny Espinosa, 2B

3. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

4. Adam LaRoche, 1B

5. Ian Desmond, SS

6. Wilson Ramos, C

7. Tyler Moore, DH

8. Scott Hairston, LF

9. Michael Taylor, CF Eury Perez, CF

Pitching order: Taylor Jordan, A.J. Cole, Christian Garcia, Xavier Cedeno, Manny Delcarmen, Aaron Barrett, Danny Rosenbaum and Tyler Robertston.

Saturday’s lineup has yet to be announced, but here’s the pitching order for that game: Jordan Zimmermann, Matt Purke, Josh Roenicke, Clay Hensley, Luis Ayala, Felipe Rivero and Gabriel Alfaro.

James Wagner joined the Post in August 2010 and, prior to covering the Nationals, covered high school sports across the region.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
How to make Sean Brock's 'Heritage' cornbread
New limbs for Pakistani soldiers
The signature dish of Charleston, S.C.
Play Videos
Why seasonal allergies make you miserable
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
What you need to know about filming the police
Play Videos
The Post taste tests Pizza Hut's new hot dog pizza
5 tips for using your thermostat
Michael Bolton's cinematic serenade to Detroit
Play Videos
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Pandas, from birth to milk to mom
The signature drink of New Orleans
Next Story
James Wagner · February 26, 2014