The Washington Post

Astros at Nationals lineups and discussion thread: Spring Game 8

Tanner Roark. (Photo by Jonathan Newton / The Washington Post)

Tanner Roark makes his second appearance of the spring and will start instead of Doug Fister, who was scratched from Friday’s start with right elbow inflammation. Roark, who is competing for the fifth starter’s spot, tossed two innings in first appearance and Manager Matt Williams is hoping for 45 pitches from his starters in their second appearance. Rafael Soriano will make his Grapefruit League debut on Friday.

The game will air live on 106.7 FM.

Nationals lineup:

1. Denard Span, CF

2. Ian Desmond, SS

3. Jayson Werth, RF

4. Bryce Harper, LF

5. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

6. Adam LaRoche, 1B

7. Wilson Ramos, C

8. Tyler Moore, DH

9. Jamey Carroll, 2B

— Tanner Roark, SP

Pitching order: Tanner Roark, Rafael Soriano, Drew Storen, Luis Ayala, Jerry Blevins, Christian Garcia and Tyler Robertson.


Astros lineup: 

1. Robbie Grossman, CF

2. Jose Altuve, 2B

3. Marc Krauss, 1B

4. Chris Carter, DH

5. Jesus Guzman, LF

6. Steve Springer, RF

7. Carlos Corporan, C

8. Marwin Gonzalez, 3B

9. Jonathan Villar, SS

— Brett Oberholtzer, SP

James Wagner joined the Post in August 2010 and, prior to covering the Nationals, covered high school sports across the region.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
How to make Sean Brock's 'Heritage' cornbread
New limbs for Pakistani soldiers
The signature dish of Charleston, S.C.
Play Videos
Why seasonal allergies make you miserable
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
What you need to know about filming the police
Play Videos
The Post taste tests Pizza Hut's new hot dog pizza
5 tips for using your thermostat
Michael Bolton's cinematic serenade to Detroit
Play Videos
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Pandas, from birth to milk to mom
The signature drink of New Orleans
Next Story
James Wagner · March 7, 2014