The Nationals handed out their end-of-season minor league awards, and first baseman Jose Marmolejos was named the player of the year and right-handed starter Austin Voth earned the pitcher of the year honor. In addition, right-handed starter Austen Williams was given the Bob Boone Award, presented to the player who displays the best leadership, professionalism and work ethic, among other traits.

Voth is the top prospect of the group, rated 10th in the Nationals system by The 23-year-old, picked out of the University of Washington in the fifth round of the 2013 draft, posted a 2.92 ERA over 157 1/3 innings at Class AA Harrisburg. His 148 strikeouts were most in the Eastern League and the Nationals minor leagues.

Voth relies on three pitches — fastball, slider and change-up — and good command to chew through innings despite throwing consistently in the low 90s. He posted a 3.7 strikeout-to-walk ratio and allowed fewer than a hit per inning (7.7 H/9). The Nationals view Voth as part of the next wave of young future major league-quality pitchers.

Marmolejos, 22, had a breakout season at Class A Hagerstown. He was signed by one of the Nationals’ top Dominican scouts, Modesto Ulloa, in 2011. Marmolejos led the South Atlantic League in hits (145), was second in batting average (.310) and third in on-base-plus-slugging percentage (.848) in a team-high 124 games. He led all Nationals minor leaguers in hits, doubles, RBI, slugging percentage and average.

Williams, 22, was honored for his performance on and off the field. A sixth round pick out of Texas State University last season, Williams posted a 2.47 ERA at Hagerstown and then a 3.73 ERA at Class A Potomac. He finished second in the Nationals minor leagues with a 2.58 ERA on the season.

All three will be honored in a ceremony in Viera in the spring.


2015: 1B Jose Marmolejos (Player of the Year), RHP Austin Voth (Pitcher of the Year), RHP Austen Williams (Boone)

2014: OF Steven Souza Jr. (Player of the Year), RHP Lucas Giolito (Pitcher of the Year), INF Wilmer Difo (Boone)

2013: OF Billy Burns (Player of the Year), RHP Taylor Jordan (Pitcher of the Year), 2B Tony Renda (Boone)

2012: INF Matthew Skole (Player of the Year), RHP Nathan Karns (Pitcher of the Year)

2011: INF Steve Lombardozzi (Player of the Year), RHP Brad Peacock (Pitcher of the Year)

2010: OF Tyler Moore (Player of the Year), LHP Tom Milone (Pitcher of the Year)

2009: C Derek Norris (Player of the Year), RHP Brad Meyers (Pitcher of the Year)

2008: OF Leonard Davis (Player of the Year), RHP Jordan Zimmermann (Pitcher of the Year)

2007: OF Justin Maxwell (Player of the Year), LHP John Lannan (Pitcher of the Year)

2006:  INF Kory Casto (Player of the Year), RHP Zechry Zinicola (Pitcher of the Year)

2005: INF Kory Casto (Player of the Year), LHP Michael O’Connor (Pitcher of the Year)