Desktop notifications are on   | Turn off

Get breaking news alerts from The Washington Post

Turn on desktop notifications?

Yes Not now

It looks like you've previously blocked notifications. Please update your browser permissions to allow them.

The Washington Post

Looking back at the seasons of two of the Nationals' standouts this season -- Jordan Zimmermann and Jayson Werth -- who placed in award voting.

The Nationals young phenom and manager accept their NL Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year awards, respectively, at the New York chapter of the baseball writers' dinner.

The Nationals' general manager was the architect of a 98-win, NL East-championship team.

After a heated debate, the Detroit Tigers slugger was awarded the AL MVP award over rookie Mike Trout. Giants catcher Buster Posey wins in the NL. Five Nationals receive votes, led by Adam LaRoche.

No Nationals are finalists for the NL MVP award, but there will be plenty of debate about the AL award, which is a two-horse race between Miguel Cabrera and Mike Trout.

Gio Gonzalez's dominant first season in Washington earned him third place in NL Cy Young voting.

The Nationals got creative in acquiring Cy Young finalist Gio Gonzalez last season, and they may need to get creative again in their search for a starter this winter.

Davey Johnson convincingly won the National League Manager of the Year award presented by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Davey Johnson seems like the easy choice to give the Nationals' their second big award in two nights.

Bryce Harper made the biggest impact of any National League rookie, but he'll have to fend off Diamondbacks starter Wade Miley to claim the Nationals' first rookie of the year award.

Load More
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters