Sen. Jerry Moran wins 2016 Kansas Senate race

Republican Jerry Moran has beaten Patrick Wiesner, a Democrat, in the race for the Kansas Senate seat currently held by Moran.

Republicans kept control of Senate majority, fending off what was thought to be a strong takeover bid by Democrats.

So far, 33 Senate races have been decided, with Republicans winning 21 and Democrats winning 12. Going into Tuesday, Republicans held a majority in the Senate, with 54 seats vs. 44 for the Democrats. Two Independents in the Senate both caucus with the Democrats.

Moran, a past chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee, joined the Senate in 2010 after serving six terms in the U.S. House.

Wiesner is an attorney and certified public accountant from Lawrence.

Kansas voted for Republican businessman Donald Trump in Tuesday’s presidential election.

Read More:

From staff and wire reports, powered by Heliograf, The Post's artificial intelligence system.

Show Comments
Most Read Politics
Read stories based on reporting for “Trump Revealed,” a broad, comprehensive biography of the life of the 45th president.
Close video player
Now Playing