The Washington Post

Eva Longoria to co-chair inauguration, Jim Messina to chair parade

Actress and Obama for America campaign co-chair Eva Longoria will be one of the four co-chairs of the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee, the organization announced Thursday.

Obama's 2012 campaign manager, Jim Messina, will chair the inaugural parade.

The Obamas, Bidens and cabinet members will participate in a national day of service on the Saturday before the inauguration, Jan. 19, and the president would ask other Americans to do the same to "to honor our shared values and celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr." Inauguration day falls on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Monday, Jan. 21, when the Obamas traditionally volunteer.

Here's the full list of campaign co-chairs:

  • Ambassador Matthew Barzun, National Finance Chair of President Obama’s reelection campaign and former ambassador to Sweden
  • Eva Longoria, Actress, Obama for America Campaign Co-Chair and Founder of the Eva Longoria Foundation
  • Jane Stetson, National Finance Chair of the Democratic National Committee
  • Frank White, former member of the National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises

Other positions announced Thursday:

  • Jim Messina, Chair, Inaugural Parade
  • Stephanie Cutter, Chair, PIC Board of Directors
  • Jen O’Malley Dillon, Chair, National Day of Service
  • Julianna Smoot, Chair, Inaugural Balls and Receptions
  • Rufus Gifford, Chair, PIC Finance
  • Patrick Gaspard, Chair, National Mall
Natalie Jennings is a Web producer for PostTV.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.
Next Story
Natalie Jennings · December 6, 2012

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.