The man charged with heading up a new Republican project aimed at nominating electable candidates says the group he leads isn't anti-tea party and doesn't have an ideological agenda.

"This issue of candidate quality is not an ideological one," the group's head, Steven Law, said Tuesday morning on MSNBC's "Daily Rundown." "It's not because we're necessarily nominating candidates who are too conservative. We're just nominating candidates who don't have the discipline or the fundraising drive or a lot of other things that they need to be able to effectively compete against very good Democratic candidates."

Conservative groups have balked at the creation of the group and at Karl Rove's involvement in it, accusing the group of wanting to nominate liberal Republicans. The group has argued that five shoddy Senate nominees over the last two elections have effectively cost the GOP control of the Senate.

Meanwhile, former congressman Chris Chocola, who heads the conservative Club for Growth, appeared alongside Law and suggested that his and Law's groups could be pitted against each other in the GOP Senate primary in Iowa.

In a New York Times story Monday, Law suggested that Rep. Steve King is the kind of candidate Republicans would be better off not nominating (he compared him to 2012 Missouri GOP Senate nominee Todd Akin), but Chocola, on the MSNBC show, said that more establishment-friendly Rep. Tom Latham isn't a good alternative.

"Tom Latham has a less-than-stellar score with us on economic issues, and Steve King ran a very disciplined race in a very competitive race in 2012 against Christie Vilsack who had 100 percent name ID and was very well-funded," Chocola said.

Chocola noted that his group has only supported two GOP primary candidates who went on to lose in the general election: Sharron Angle and Richard Mourdock.

Other conservative groups, it should be noted, have backed the three other candidates who have been criticized for running poor campaigns and costing Republicans very winnable races: Akin, Christine O'Donnell in Delaware in 2010 and Ken Buck in Colorado in 2010.