Both the GOP and Democratic sequester replacement bills failed in the Senate on Thursday, and neither got unified support even from the party that proposed it.

In fact, nine Republicans voted against the GOP plan: Sens. Kelly Ayotte (N.H.), Susan Collins (Maine), Ted Cruz (Texas), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Dean Heller (Nev.), Mike Lee (Utah), John McCain (Ariz.), Rand Paul (Ky.) and Marco Rubio (Fla.). And two Democrats voted for it: Sens. Max Baucus (Mont.) and Mark Warner (Va.).

Three Democrats voted against the Democrats' bill, all of them facing reelection in red states in 2014: Sens. Kay Hagan (N.C.), Mary Landrieu (La.) and Mark Pryor (Ark.). Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) also changed his vote to 'no' for procedural purposes when it was clear the bill had failed.

In the end, the GOP bill got 38 votes and the Democratic bill got 51 -- both well shy of the 60 votes needed to proceed to a final vote.