The Washington Post

The continuing resolution: How they voted

The House on Wednesday voted to continue funding the government past March 27, a bill that would avert another showdown over a potential government shutdown.

The so-called "continuing resolution" vote had the support of all but 14 Republicans, but only 53 of 190 Democrats.

Those 14 Republicans tended to come from the libertarian and tea party wings of the party. They were: Reps. Justin Amash (Mich.), Jim Bridenstine (Okla.), Paul Broun (Ga.), Ron DeSantis (Fla.), Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.), John Duncan (Tenn.), Phil Gingrich (Ga.), Louie Gohmert (Tex.), Jack Kingston (Ga.), Tom Massie (Ky.), Tom McClintock (Calif.), Bill Posey (Fla.), Matt Salmon (Ariz.) and Steve Stockman (Tex.).

Interestingly, three of the 14 "no" votes came from Republicans who are expected to seek an open Senate seat in Georgia in 2014.

Before the vote, Democrats proposed an amendment to the continuing resolution that would replace the sequester cuts with tax increases and alternative cuts. Their bill was opposed by every Republican and also three Democrats from conservative districts: Reps. John Barrow (Ga.), Jim Matheson (Utah) and Collin Peterson (Minn.).

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
The Democrats debated Thursday night. Get caught up on the race.
The Post's Chris Cillizza on the Democratic debate...
On Clinton: She poked a series of holes in Sanders's health-care proposal and broadly cast him as someone who talks a big game but simply can't hope to achieve his goals.

On Sanders: If the challenge was to show that he could be a candidate for people other than those who already love him, he didn't make much progress toward that goal. But he did come across as more well-versed on foreign policy than in debates past.
The PBS debate in 3 minutes
We are in vigorous agreement here.
Hillary Clinton, during the PBS Democratic debate, a night in which she and Sanders shared many of the same positions on issues
South Carolina polling averages
Donald Trump leads in the polls as he faces rivals Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz heading into the S.C. GOP primary on Feb. 20.
South Carolina polling averages
The S.C. Democratic primary is Feb. 27. Clinton has a significant lead in the state, whose primary falls one week after the party's Nevada caucuses.
62% 33%
Fact Checker
Trump’s claim that his border wall would cost $8 billion
The billionaire's claim is highly dubious. Based on the costs of the Israeli security barrier (which is mostly fence) and the cost of the relatively simple fence already along the U.S.-Mexico border, an $8 billion price tag is simply not credible.
Pinocchio Pinocchio Pinocchio Pinocchio
Upcoming debates
Feb 13: GOP debate

on CBS News, in South Carolina

Feb. 25: GOP debate

on CNN, in Houston, Texas

March 3: GOP debate

on Fox News, in Detroit, Mich.

Campaign 2016
Where the race stands
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.