The White House canceled its daily press briefing Wednesday in the face of what's expected to be the biggest snowstorm in the region in the last two years.

The Office of Personnel Management decided shortly before 4 a.m. to close all federal offices in the D.C. area Wednesday. School systems — including the District; Alexandria, and Arlington, Fauquier, Fairfax and Prince William counties in Virginia; and Montgomery, Howard and Prince George’s counties in Maryland — announced that they would shut down. Government offices in the District and Arlington, Montgomery and Loudoun counties also were closed; Fairfax County government opened on time.

For more snow updates, follow our liveblog.