The Washington Post

11 House Republicans named to incumbent-protection program

House Republicans on Monday will name 11 members to a program designed to protect their most vulnerable incumbents, Post Politics has confirmed.

The following 11 members will be named to the so-called Patriots program, which helps raise money and assist the candidates as they seek reelection:

Rep. Mike Coffman (Colo.)

Rep. Rodney Davis (Ill.)

Rep. Jeff Denham (Calif.)

Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (Pa.)

Rep. Bob Gibbs (Ohio)

Rep. Chris Gibson (N.Y.)

Rep. Joe Heck (Nev.)

Rep. David Joyce (Ohio)

Rep. Steve Southerland (Fla.)

Rep. David Valadao (Calif.)

Rep. Jackie Walorski (Ind.)

Four of the members are freshmen -- Walorski, Joyce, Valadao and Davis -- while six others were first elected in 2010. Coffman, who faces a tough race with former Senate candidate Andrew Romanoff (D) in a newly drawn swing district, is the only one to have been in Congress longer than two terms.

Among those not on the list is Rep. Gary Miller (R-Calif.), whom the Cook Political Report rates as the most vulnerable Republican in the country. Miller got lucky in 2012, facing a Republican in the general election under California's new "top two" primary system, even as his district leans slightly Democratic.

This is just the first round of the program, though, and Miller could be included in future rounds.

The list of the 11 new Patriots was first reported by Politico.

House Democrats have already released their list of which incumbents will get early assistance on their reelection campaigns, naming 26 members to their equivalent of the NRCC's Patriot program -- the Frontline program.

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.
Next Story
Sean Sullivan · April 22, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.