6:03 p.m. update: Jindal's office says that while he is not attending the NGA meeting, he will attend a Republican Governors Association meeting here on Sunday. 

MILWAUKEE -- Twenty-five of the nation's governors are gathering here for the National Governors Association's summer meeting, but some of the biggest names are notably absent.

(Alex Wong/Getty Images) (Alex Wong/Getty Images)

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal (R), the chairman of the Republican Governors Association, will not be in attendance. Jindal is headed to Iowa on Saturday for an event to support Gov. Terry Branstad (R). A spokesman for Jindal said he will attend an RGA meeting in Milwaukee on Sunday. Louisiana and Texas

RGA vice chairman Scott Walker, whose state is hosting the meeting, is here. Walker kicked off the weekend gathering with brief remarks at a morning news conference alongside several other governors.

Embattled Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell (R) is nowhere to be found. Nor is Texas Gov. Rick Perry (R), who just concluded a high-profile battle over abortion laws in his state.

Texas and Louisiana stopped paying NGA membership dues.

Two of the GOP's western state stars -- New Mexico Gov. Susana Martinez and Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval -- are not here. New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D), a potential 2016 presidential candidate, is not here, either. South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley (R) is also absent.

That said, there are some marquee names at the meeting. New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie (R) is here. So is Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley (D), who like Christie is a potential 2016 White House contender. Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper (D), the colorful former mayor of Denver, is also attending.

Here is the complete list of governors attending, as provided by the NGA:

Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer (R)
Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper (D)
Connecticut Gov. Dan Malloy (D)
Delaware Gov. Jack Markell (D)
Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie (D)
Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn (D)
Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad (R)
Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley (D)
Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton (D)
Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant (R)
Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon (D)
Nebraska Gov. Dave Heineman (R)
New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie (R)
North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory (R)
North Dakota Gov. Jack Dalrymple (R)
Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin (R)
Puerto Rico Gov. Alejandro Garcia Padilla (D)
Rhode Island Gov. Lincoln Chafee (D)
South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard (R)
Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam (R)
Utah Gov. Gary Herbert (R)
Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin (D)
Virgin Islands Gov. John de Jongh Jr. (D)
West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin (D)
Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker (R)