The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

White House lists 10 countries supporting action on Syria

The White House released a joint statement Friday on the situation in Syria signed by 10 allies: Australia, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

The previous hour, President Obama had promised to release a list of countries that were allying themselves with the United States in opposition to the Syrian regime's alleged use of chemical weapons.